Comments on: 5+ times on base, no runs scored http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/1288 This and that about baseball stats. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 17:01:55 +0000 hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.6 By: Andy http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/1288/comment-page-1#comment-6284 Wed, 25 Mar 2009 10:37:55 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/sotd/?p=1288#comment-6284 Reaching on error definitely counts as a time on base. Getting to first base by virtue of a fielder's choice does NOT count as a time on base, even though a batter does get credit for scoring a run if he does eventually come around after reaching by FC. That's one major stupidity of how MLB scoring rules work. It seems that the guy erased on the FC deserves at least half a run scored in that case.

]]>
By: JohnnyTwisto http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/1288/comment-page-1#comment-6280 Tue, 24 Mar 2009 21:20:31 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/sotd/?p=1288#comment-6280 He also reached on an error.

]]>
By: JDV http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/1288/comment-page-1#comment-6279 Tue, 24 Mar 2009 20:07:02 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/sotd/?p=1288#comment-6279 Regarding Pedroia's game, if reaching on a fielder's choice (or presumably on an error) don't count, I only see 5 TOB for him (2 2B, 1 BB, 2 HBP).

]]>