Comments on: Trivia time http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/10879 This and that about baseball stats. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 17:01:55 +0000 hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.6 By: Trivia Time! « into BOLIVIAN http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/10879/comment-page-1#comment-111699 Tue, 10 May 2011 21:25:59 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=10879#comment-111699 [...] the fine folks over at Baseball Reference. (Regular text = BR, Bold = [...]

]]>
By: Richard Chester http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/10879/comment-page-1#comment-108981 Fri, 29 Apr 2011 19:22:54 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=10879#comment-108981 @22

This to confirm the content of post 22. On April 29, 1933 Gehrig and Walker were tagged out on the same play by C Luke Sewell. Tony Lazzeri hit a double but Gehrig held up at second to see if the ball would be caught. Obviously Walker did not hold up. I read this on baseballlibrary.com under its "This Day in Baseball" column.

]]>
By: SocraticGadfly http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/10879/comment-page-1#comment-108769 Thu, 28 Apr 2011 20:23:35 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=10879#comment-108769 @ Dave V. 3 and others .... this all made me think of the 1982 WS, the only time I (and a good Cards fan) have seen two people score on the same sac fly. Remember holding my breath to see if Ozzie, as well as Willie McGee, would score.

]]>
By: Johnny Twisto http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/10879/comment-page-1#comment-108768 Thu, 28 Apr 2011 20:18:02 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=10879#comment-108768 I don't think Gibson could be credited with a triple if the runner one base ahead of him didn't score. By rule, it has to be a double. I looked this up once because a similar thing happened to me in a softball game when I was behind an exceedingly slow runner. Too lazy to find the actual rule again though.

]]>
By: Hunter http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/10879/comment-page-1#comment-108753 Thu, 28 Apr 2011 19:31:59 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=10879#comment-108753 Not positive, but I think the Fisk play is at 2:42 of this video (I linked it to start at 2:38). That's the video that the White Sox put on before the beginning of games. The video quality is miserable and you get like a second of the play, but there it is.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWpt-KISuDM&t=02m38s

]]>
By: Andy http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/10879/comment-page-1#comment-108751 Thu, 28 Apr 2011 19:24:52 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=10879#comment-108751 I'd have to think that the wisdom was that Gibson only took 3rd because there was a runner ahead of him, and that Gibson's advance to 3rd (and even home) was just like any advance by a hitter-runner on a throw destined for a base other than the one they are trying to reach. Seems like it might have been more appropriate to award Gibson a triple, though.

]]>
By: Brett http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/10879/comment-page-1#comment-108742 Thu, 28 Apr 2011 18:52:47 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=10879#comment-108742 Here's a description of the Lou Whitaker-Kirk Gibson play above:
"In the sixth inning, [Kirk Gibson] hit a tremendous drive to deep center field with Lou Whitaker on first. The Boston center fielder Tony Armas fielded Gibson's drive 440 feet away and threw to the shortstop Glenn Hoffman as Whitaker and Gibson dashed for home. Gibson nearly caught up to Whitaker as the two circled the bases. When Hoffman's relay got to the Boston catcher Rich Gedman, he tagged Whitaker out, then had the ball knocked from his hand as Gibson ran into the plate umpire Larry Barnett, driving him into the catcher. At first, the ruling credited Gibson with an inside-the-park homer, but it was later changed to a double and a error by Gedman"

That's a rough error!

]]>
By: Voomo Zanzibar http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/10879/comment-page-1#comment-108740 Thu, 28 Apr 2011 18:46:39 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=10879#comment-108740 Phil Rizzuto talked about it for weeks afterwards.
It really was great to have a grandfatherly homer calling the games as a kid.
The best was when he would react to a shot off the bat as maybe being outta here... and it would be a popup to the shortstop.

]]>
By: Dave V. http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/10879/comment-page-1#comment-108735 Thu, 28 Apr 2011 17:57:46 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=10879#comment-108735 @16 Artie Z - thanks for the check done on Hoffman so far. Its interesting that he did it 3 times alone in 1995.

]]>
By: Dave V. http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/archives/10879/comment-page-1#comment-108734 Thu, 28 Apr 2011 17:55:33 +0000 http://www.baseball-reference.com/blog/?p=10879#comment-108734 @9 Lawrence Azrin, @10 Andy, @14 Voomo Zanzibar -- I too looked to find the play somewhere on the Net and can only find descriptions, no video. I did see the play again a few years ago though, on some sports channel (or possibly even a MLB stadium outside of NY). In any case, the play was every bit as painful to watch as I remembered it as a kid.

Also, while its not video, I did find this:

http://www.websters-online-dictionary.org/definitions/Double%20Play?cx=partner-pub-0939450753529744%3Av0qd01-tdlq&cof=FORID%3A9&ie=UTF-8&q=Double%20Play&sa=Search#922

I love that the Meacham/Berra DP is actually mentioned in Webster's online dictionary...

]]>